Members overview

How it works

The Members feature allows you to invite individual users and set the permission settings for each member. If multiple users are collaborating on a project, Labelbox will distribute the data to the members with the appropriate access.

Members will only get unique data, meaning Labelbox will not allow multiple users to label the same data unless Auto Consensus is turned on. Note: Auto consensus will be available in the new Image editor in early 2020. However, you can still access this feature from the Legacy image editor.

Benefits of adding members
  1. Complete your projects faster. Labelbox automatically divides the data attached to a project to all the labelers which can help complete a project in a fraction of the time compared to only having one labeler.
  2. Manage performance. Track the total number of labels, time per label, and total time spent labeling for each member. This will help you manage the efficiency, cost, and complexity of your labeling project.
  3. Benefit from labeling consensus. With Auto Consensus turned on, a portion of your dataset will be labeled by multiple labelers. Labelbox will then compare the agreement for each of these labels across the multiple labelers and calculates a consensus score. Auto Consensus works in real time so you can take immediate and corrective actions towards improving your training data and model performance.

Member roles

You may set permission levels for each user in one of two ways: at the organization level or at the project-based level. Organization roles and project-based roles are designed to be mutually exclusive. Here is a breakdown of the differences between the two:

Organization roles

Project-based roles

A role assigned at this level will apply to all projects within your organization.

Users cannot be restricted from accessing certain projects at from the organization level.

If set, the user's project-based roles cannot be modified.

Roles at this level are assigned on a project-by-project basis.

Contains an additional "No access" permission setting to restrict a user from selected projects.

If set, the user's organization role cannot be modified.

With the exception of the "No access" permission which is only available as a project-based role, the role titles at the organization and project levels are the same: Labeler, Reviewer, Team manager, and Admin.

  • A Labeler can label queued data and view their own work from the Activity table. A labeler cannot view labeler performance or view/modify any aspect of the project configuration or data sources.
  • A Reviewer extends the Labeler role by being able to see and review all labeled data in the project.
  • A Team manager extends the Reviewer role by being able to add and remove members inside of a project. The Team Manager can also view labeling performance for all team members.
  • The Admin role can add and make modifications to projects, data, and Labelers. By default, the user that signs up for the account has the role of Admin.

See Add a member to learn how to assign organization and project-based roles to individual users.

Teams

Creating a team allows you to add a group of members to a project instead of adding each member individually. This is particularly helpful when there are a lot of members to manage. Note that roles are still configured individually for maximum flexibility.


Was this page helpful?